What's new

[OFFICIAL] A Guide for New Users

neccta

Veteran User
Veteran User
Joined
Jul 5, 2014
Messages
35
Reaction score
6
What is TrinityCore?

TrinityCore is a MMORPG Framework based mostly in C++.

It is derived from MaNGOS, the Massive Network Game Object Server, and is based on the code of that project with extensive changes over time to optimize, improve and cleanup the codebase at the same time as improving the in-game mechanics and functionality.

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a freely available open source Relational Database Management System (RDBMS) that uses Structured Query Language (SQL). SQL is the most popular language for adding, accessing and managing content in a database. It is most noted for its quick processing, proven reliability, ease and flexibility of use.

It is used to store creature spawn locations, item information, quests, and more.

What are Maps, VMaps, and DBCs?

Source
Maps: Maps are a must and TrinityCore does not run without them. The maps provide physical values and data for the core to interpret. Based on these, the core has a layout that can be compared with each client. This includes area definition.

DBCs: DBCs are a must and TrinityCore does not run without them. The DBCs ("Data Base Client [Files]") give essential values that the World of Warcraft client interprets. They define races, textures, local models and more. TrinityCore interprets these and loads them up.

VMaps: VMaps are optional, but highly recommended. VMaps ("Virtual Maps") calculate the possibility of line-of-sight, as an example. Based on their content, the server can (for example) calculate if spell casts are possible (e.g. if a wall is in between the target and caster or not).

MMaps: As of 02/2013, MMaps are experimental and thus optional. To further physical boundaries, MMaps ("Movement Maps") enforce physical boundaries on non-player, e.g. npcs, as their collision is not handled by the client. They also improve path generation.

What versions does TrinityCore support?
The most stable version TrinityCore supports is 3.3.3a(Wotlk) and currently has 6.0.3(WoD) in development, which is very unstable.

Does TrinityCore work on Linux or OSX?

TrinityCore will work on Linux and OSX, to learn more see http://collab.kpsn.org/display/tc/Requirements

What is open source?
Software for which the original source code is made freely available and may be redistributed and modified.

Where can I find TrinityCore open source files?

https://github.com/TrinityCore/TrinityCore/
 
Last edited:

neccta

Veteran User
Veteran User
Joined
Jul 5, 2014
Messages
35
Reaction score
6
MySQL says it's already running but I've never started it.

This is caused because of folder and file permissions, if your server is located in Program files it is recommend that you move them to your documents. If not right click on your _server folder, properties, security tab. Set the user to full control.
 
Last edited:

Crunchy28

Registered User
Registered User
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
how can i setup heidisql? ihave no idea what mysql.bat password. it always says that "access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)"
 

ExO

Administrator
Staff Member
Admin
Mythical User
Joined
Mar 29, 2014
Messages
4,460
Reaction score
302
how can i setup heidisql? ihave no idea what mysql.bat password. it always says that "access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)"
Depends what MySQL provider you use, try root and password blank, OR root and ascent as password.
You can check this in the mysql config file.
 

zyrus23

Registered User
Registered User
Joined
Sep 1, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Cuba
Help

Plase.... where i found your v6.1 or v6.0 4.3.4 repack??... i want to play whit my friends via LAN but the V5 had a lot of bugs in the starting areas and the paladins's templar veredict is buged.... plase i need help becouse i dont find the link of the v6 repack
PD: sorry about my english i from cuba
thanks
 

iRoflu

Admiral Squatbar
Staff Member
Head Mod
Gold Supporter
Heroic User
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
52
Location
World Martial Arts Championships
Gender
Male
Plase.... where i found your v6.1 or v6.0 4.3.4 repack??... i want to play whit my friends via LAN but the V5 had a lot of bugs in the starting areas and the paladins's templar veredict is buged.... plase i need help becouse i dont find the link of the v6 repack
PD: sorry about my english i from cuba
thanks
I'll try to explain this as simple as I can to help with translation. Sorry if it is not readable for you:

Version 6 and 6.1 are currently VIP only.
Version 5 is the current free version.
Version 6 might come out soon to public.

To get version 6.1, or the new version coming out, 6.2, you must donate to get VIP access.
$14.95 for one year VIP access, or $21.95 for life time VIP access.

You can go here to donate:
http://www.emucoach.com/payments.php
 

yilank

Supporter
Supporter
Veteran User
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
Location
London
Hi. When I tried to start "MySQL" in _Server Folder Cmd.exe said >>> MySQL could not be started. ?

What should I do. ( i did permission to folders administrator ). Should I setup first MySQL program. or should I start Your Folder inside have already MySQL application ?

Thx.

View attachment MySQL.jpg

View attachment MySQL 2.jpg

Edit; I worked to server, and i try to learn how can i change data base. Thx for noone helped. ( without #Brian8544, he was very helpfull, thx brian)
 
Last edited:

Aescleal

Gold Supporter
Gold Supporter
Veteran User
Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
106
Reaction score
9
Hi, sorry I have some stupid questions I can't find answers to. (newb here)
First, I only have Version 1 of the Repack because it's the only one I could find.
Next, WorldServer won't start, and it closes before I can read why.
I'm starting (in order) Apache, then MySQL, then Authserver... and these all run fine I think... and lastly I start Worldserver. But as I said, it crashes. Is this a Version 1 issue? Or is it that I don't have my folders in the right places? Something is preventing it from starting up.
Since this sounds like an awesome server to run, I'm really excited to run it on my home LAN.
Are these stupid newb questions or what? :) Can somebody help me get up and running?
Thanks

Edit: Oh sorry, I'm trying to get the Cat server running, 4.3.4 Cat, v.1. I'd prefer v.5
 
Last edited:

iRoflu

Admiral Squatbar
Staff Member
Head Mod
Gold Supporter
Heroic User
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
52
Location
World Martial Arts Championships
Gender
Male
Hi, sorry I have some stupid questions I can't find answers to. (newb here)
First, I only have Version 1 of the Repack because it's the only one I could find.
Next, WorldServer won't start, and it closes before I can read why.
I'm starting (in order) Apache, then MySQL, then Authserver... and these all run fine I think... and lastly I start Worldserver. But as I said, it crashes. Is this a Version 1 issue? Or is it that I don't have my folders in the right places? Something is preventing it from starting up.
Since this sounds like an awesome server to run, I'm really excited to run it on my home LAN.
Are these stupid newb questions or what? :) Can somebody help me get up and running?
Thanks

Edit: Oh sorry, I'm trying to get the Cat server running, 4.3.4 Cat, v.1. I'd prefer v.5
When you say version 1, or 5, do you mean the first actual release of the cata repack?
The current public release version is v6.
You can download it here:
https://www.emucoach.com/showthread...hwings-Madness-v-5-EmuCoach-s-Official-Repack
 

Aescleal

Gold Supporter
Gold Supporter
Veteran User
Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
106
Reaction score
9
When you say version 1, or 5, do you mean the first actual release of the cata repack?
The current public release version is v6.
You can download it here:
https://www.emucoach.com/showthread...hwings-Madness-v-5-EmuCoach-s-Official-Repack
Yes. v1 of the cata repack. I didn't realize I had to post in that forum before I could see the latest repack download links. I'll get those now and cross my fingers. However, is there a correct folder order I need to abide? Where do I place the vmaps and dbc, etc. folders?

EDIT: Got it. :) It loads up. Will playtest later when I'm not remote into my system.

Thanks for the help!
 
Last edited:

TokeurZ

Member
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Location
France
Very good topic for all new members whos making their owns servers ! +1 rep
 

boggtroll

Gold Supporter
Gold Supporter
Registered User
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Is there a step-by-step (click by click) tutorial on how to get a repack running? I used to run a 3.3.5a, 4.3.4, and a 1.12 server for myself...but that's been a few years ago and I can't remember what I did to get them working or where I got the information from. I'm trying to get the current paid version of 4.3.4 running (v13.1 i think). neither the worldserver nor authserver wants to start. I just get "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)." I made sure I have the required software installed along with any .dll I was missing before. Maybe that the paid versions folders could need to be named something different than _Server or Release? (I only think that from poking around the .conf files for world/auth.) Any help would be appreciated.
 
Last edited:

smity_wa

Supporter
Supporter
Registered User
Joined
Feb 25, 2021
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Gender
Male
Is there a step-by-step (click by click) tutorial on how to get a repack running? I used to run a 3.3.5a, 4.3.4, and a 1.12 server for myself...but that's been a few years ago and I can't remember what I did to get them working or where I got the information from. I'm trying to get the current paid version of 4.3.4 running (v13.1 i think). neither the worldserver nor authserver wants to start. I just get "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)." I made sure I have the required software installed along with any .dll I was missing before. Maybe that the paid versions folders could need to be named something different than _Server or Release? (I only think that from poking around the .conf files for world/auth.) Any help would be appreciated.
I also need this answered. I followed the video, copy the files and still get the same error.
 
Top