Getting off the ground

sLider72jr

Veteran Member
Verified Member
Hello all. I am fairly new to the community and interested in what to do next. I am looking for someone that can teach me what to do next and how to prepare for a repack. I have basic knowledge about coding and whatnot, but I don't know what the first step is. I am also interested in communication and sharing about the games, but again. I don't really know what to do. If someone can point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it!

Mr. Satan

Admiral Squatbar
Mythical User
Head Moderator
Gold Supporter
MoP Premium
Superior Member
Hello all. I am fairly new to the community and interested in what to do next. I am looking for someone that can teach me what to do next and how to prepare for a repack. I have basic knowledge about coding and whatnot, but I don't know what the first step is. I am also interested in communication and sharing about the games, but again. I don't really know what to do. If someone can point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it!

First, welcome to the forums.
Second, to start, it depends on what you want to do.
Do you want to create a personal or public server?

If you want to make a public server using a repack, you should note that not many people like to play on those servers, due to the reputations of the average repack.
If you want to make a personal server for either just yourself or friends, it'll be a lot easier and quicker, as basically all you have to do is download all the required files from the repack, organize them, and start it up.

The organization of the folders (folder names may be different) is something like this:

[Core] (All your maps, vmaps, etc. files go in this folder)
-Mmaps
-Vmaps
-Maps
-Db
-Authserver.exe
-Worldserver.exe

[_Server] (you dont have to add anything to this folder)
-MySQL.bat